South Caucasus report

Ronald Reagan House has published a new report on economic and political developments in South Caucasus over the last five years.

South Caucasus, a region that consists of three Caucasian states – Azerbaijan, Georgia and Armenia, was and to this day remains in the crossroads of great powers and great historical events. At least in the case of Azerbaijan it is also gifted with valuable and strategically important natural resources – oil and gas.

All three countries differ in their culture, language and history as well as their economic paths, domestic and foreign policies. The same is also true concerning the geopolitical situation that Azerbaijan, Georgia and Armenia find themselves in. In addition external political actors see each of the South Caucasian states in different light. Hence is it possible to think about the South Caucasus as homogeneous region? Is it fruitful to make comparisons between the three seemingly disparate neighbors?

Over the past few years the South Caucasian states had to cope with diverse challenges. While Armenia felt the worst of the global financial crisis, Azerbaijan not only absorbed the economic shock unscathed, but also heavily invested abroad. Georgia, still bleeding after losing two takeaway regions, has seen the government change. And all three found themselves in the middle of colliding interests of regional and world powers. In this context, the report analyzes the latest economic and political developments in the region to properly evaluate how far and toward what direction each country of the South Caucasus have gone and will likely go in the near future.

Full report (PDF · 20 pages · 321 KB)


Print Friendly